Willy Fautré

Willy Fautré

Director and Co-Founder

  • Founder and Director of Human Rights Without Frontiers/ Belgium (since 1989) and Human Rights Without Frontiers Int. since 2001 (
  • Press correspondent and member of the editorial board of The European Times in Brussels and The Geneva Times
  • Member of the Press Club in Brussels and contributor to various media in Brussels (EU Reporter, EU Political Report, Euractiv, EU Observer,..)
  • Member of the Human Rights and Democracy Network (HRDN) in Brussels
  • Associate editor in the editorial board of Bitter Winter, a magazine on religious liberty and human rights
  • Lecturer in universities and academic conferences on freedom of religion or belief and human rights
  • Consultant to the Intergroup on Freedom of Religion or Belief at the European Parliament on various projects
  • Member of Human Rights and Democracy Network (HRDN) in Brussels
  • Honorary Member of the Strategic Council of the Institute of Human rights and Prevention of Extremism and Xenophobia in Kiev
  • Co-founder of the Raoul Wallenberg Committee/ Belgium
  • Co-founder of the Centre d’Animation en Langues in Belgium
  • Former member of the Advisory Board of the European Parliament Platform for Secularism in Politics
  • Former professor of Germanic languages
  • Former chargé de mission at the Belgian Parliament on linguistic projects
  • Former chargé de mission at the Cabinet of the Belgian Ministry of Education on linguistic projects
  • Former researcher on linguistic projects at the University of Mons
  • Former trainer of language teachers in state institutions




HRWF Team Members

A. FAUTRE, Advocacy & Communication
C. MIRRE, Advocacy & Communication
J. DASCOTTE, Advocacy & Communication
M. DASCOTTE, Database of FoRB Prisoners
E. VAN RUITEN, Consultancy


HRWF Network of Experts

HRWF’s network of experts are independent consultants. They cannot be held accountable for the choice of policies of HRWF, a prerogative of the board of directors.

Ievgeniia DODINA, PhD (Odessa): Administrative Justice in Ukraine
Zsuzsa-Anna FERENCZY, PhD (Brussels): Human Rights in China and in North Korea
Evgeniia GIDULIANOVA, PhD (London) Legal Expert & HRWF Representative in London
Hans NOOT (Netherlands): Freedom of Religion or Belief
Oliver PAHNECKE, PhD, (Warsaw): Rule of Law, Sovereign Finance, Human Rights and Independence of the Judiciary
Aaron RHODES, PhD (Hamburg): Human Rights Senior Analyst, Anti-Semitism and Freedom of Expression
Alfiaz VAIYA (London): LGBTQI, Racism and Xenophobia
Alexandr VERKHOVSKY (Moscow): Religious freedom in Russia
Dominic ZOEHRER (Vienna): Freedom of Religion or Belief

HRWF Network of Correspondents

HRWF has a network of correspondents around the world that provide us information, news and analyses for our newsletters. For their security, some want to remain anonymous or use a nickname.

CK (South Korea)
Fabienne FEN (Taiwan)
Ji Soo KWON (South Korea)
Jarrod LOPES (USA)
Eva SAENZ-DIEZ, PhD (Belgium)
Thierry VALLE (France)
Stéphane VALTER, PhD (France)
Lixin YANG (USA)


HRWF Board of Directors

Charles BINDELS, Regis DERICQUEBOURG, Willy FAUTRE, Fabrice MARTIN, Hans NOOT, Pierre RIGOULOT, Alfiaz VAIYA, and Peter VAN GEEL.